TL;DR
Turn quiet afternoons into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Fit&Well published a senior personal trainer’s 10-minute, no-equipment circuit for adults over 60, with chair squats, wall push-ups and standing knee-to-elbow crunches. The trainer suggests three circuits of 10 repetitions per move, three to four times weekly, while advising readers to adapt movements and seek help with form when needed.
Fit&Well has published a 10-minute, no-equipment workout that a personal trainer says they give clients over 60 to practise at home between sessions. The circuit uses chair squats, wall push-ups and standing knee-to-elbow movements, with three rounds of 10 repetitions per exercise suggested for a full-body routine.
The routine is designed to work the lower body, upper body and core without weights or exercise machines. The trainer describes it as a circuit: complete 10 repetitions of each move, then repeat the sequence until three circuits are finished. Brief rests are allowed, and the trainer says beginners may need more than 10 minutes at first.
For chair squats, stand in front of a chair, bend at the hips and knees to tap the seat, then stand again. The trainer says people who find the movement difficult can sit fully before standing, and may hold a wall or another stable structure for support. The guidance also cautions against rounding the back or arching the lower back.
Wall push-ups are performed facing a wall, with the hands placed against it as the exerciser bends and straightens the elbows. Moving the feet farther from the wall increases the challenge; standing closer makes it easier. For the standing knee-to-elbow move, lift one knee while bringing the opposite elbow toward it, alternating sides. The trainer advises using a chair or wall for balance support and working within a comfortable range of motion.
A Short Routine for Home Practice
The plan offers older adults a brief option for strength exercise at home, particularly between appointments with a trainer. Its use of a chair and wall means the listed exercises require no dedicated equipment, while the wall and chair can also provide support for people who need it.
The article presents the routine as a trainer’s recommendation, not as a clinical study or a guarantee of particular health outcomes. It does not report research showing that this exact sequence improves strength, balance or other measures. Readers should treat the timing and frequency as the trainer’s suggested plan and adapt it to their own ability and circumstances.
There is also a practical progression built into the instructions: beginners can take longer rests, use easier versions and gradually work toward completing the circuit with less rest. That makes the routine potentially useful as a simple structure for regular movement, while leaving the choice of exercise and pace to the individual.
Products Worth Considering

Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Withings Sleep Under-Mattress Sleep Tracking Pad

Oral-B iO Series 3 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush for Adults, Black, with 2 Brush Heads and Travel Case
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Trainer’s Between-Session Plan
The trainer says clients over 60 often ask what they can do at home between workouts together. The published circuit is offered in response to that request, with three exercises repeated in sequence and no equipment required. The supplied report does not identify the trainer by name or provide information about their qualifications beyond describing them as a personal trainer for seniors.
The trainer recommends aiming for the routine three to four times per week. They also suggest that people who want to divide movement across the day could do it in separate sessions, such as morning, afternoon and evening. The report does not specify a particular weekly schedule for readers with different abilities or health conditions.
Limits and Safety Guidance
The report does not provide clinical evidence for the specific circuit, nor does it explain how the plan should be adjusted for particular medical conditions, injuries or levels of fitness. It also does not state whether the trainer’s advice was reviewed by a medical professional. The routine is described as beginner-appropriate, but the trainer warns that incorrect form can cause pain or injury.
People with balance difficulties are advised to use a wall or chair for support during the knee-to-elbow movement, and those with lower-back issues are told to move slowly and stay within a comfortable range. The article does not give individual medical advice. Anyone uncertain whether these exercises are suitable for them can consult a qualified health professional or a trainer who can assess their technique.
How to Start and Progress
The trainer’s suggested next step is to practise the sequence at a comfortable pace, taking short rests between exercises and accepting that the first sessions may run longer than 10 minutes. The proposed target is three circuits, three to four days per week, with less rest as familiarity grows. These are recommendations in the Fit&Well report, not a required schedule.
Readers should use the easier adjustments described for each move where needed: sit fully before standing from a chair, move closer to the wall for push-ups, or hold a stable support during the standing exercise. The trainer says a personal trainer can help with form and judge when someone is ready to make an exercise harder. The source does not announce a follow-up study or additional programme details.
Key Questions
What exercises are in the 10-minute workout?
The circuit includes chair squats, wall push-ups and standing knee-to-elbow movements. It is designed to involve the lower body, upper body and core without equipment.
How many repetitions and rounds does the trainer suggest?
The trainer suggests 10 repetitions per exercise and three full circuits. For the knee-to-elbow movement, the guidance is 10 repetitions on each side.
How often does the trainer recommend doing it?
The trainer suggests aiming for three to four times per week. The report also says people may split activity into separate sessions during the day, but does not prescribe a schedule for individual health needs.
What if I cannot complete the movements as described?
The report offers modifications: sit fully on the chair before standing, move closer to the wall for an easier push-up, and use a wall or chair for balance support. The trainer says to work within a comfortable range and suggests seeking help from a personal trainer for form and progression.
Is the routine suitable for everyone over 60?
The article presents it as beginner-appropriate, but does not establish that it is suitable for every person. It warns that incorrect technique may cause pain or injury and gives extra cautions for balance difficulties and lower-back issues. People unsure about exercise safety should consult a qualified professional.
Source: fitandwell.com
